Were You Arrested On Suspicion Of DWI In Texas?

A DWI charge is a serious matter and should be dealt with as such. A conviction for DWI in Texas carries with it serious consequences, including large fines, license suspensions and possible jail time.

In addition, if your insurance company finds that you have been convicted, or even arrested for a DWI, it may drop you from coverage or almost certainly raise your rates. You will also incur a state-mandated Department of Public Safety (DPS) surcharge of at least $1,000 per year for three years to keep your driver's license as an additional penalty.

Finally, and often most importantly, a DWI conviction can have a devastating effect on your personal life. In addition to the negative social stigma that comes with a DWI charge, getting into college or other advanced education opportunities can become nearly impossible. A DWI will also limit your career goals, as often employers will not even consider applicants with this charge on their records.

If you have been arrested on DWI charges, it is imperative to take immediate legal action. Contact John "Tony" Ross Jr., an experienced Denton DWI lawyer, today at 940-230-2413.

New Texas Law Allows First-Time DWI Offenders A 'Second Chance' Click Here To Read More

car design

Penalties For DWI In Texas

A first-time DWI is a Class B misdemeanor. It carries a penalty of up to six months in county jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
* A first-time DWI is a Class A misdemeanor if the person's blood alcohol content (BAC) was .15 or more.

A second DWI is a Class A misdemeanor. It carries a penalty of up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $4,000.

A third DWI is a third-degree felony. It carries a penalty of not less than two years and not more than 10 years in prison. Also, a fine of up to $10,000 may be assessed.

*In addition, driver's license suspensions and reinstatement surcharges will accompany all of these offenses, usually triggering the need for occupational driver's licenses.

Do Not Wait, Contact Us Today

The point is that an arrest on suspicion of DWI is extremely serious and should be handled accordingly. You need an attorney who has the skill and ability to take your case to trial if necessary. This is especially true in conservative counties such as Denton County.

For most cases, from the date of arrest, you have 15 days to request an administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing on what will otherwise result in a driver's license suspension of generally 90 days for failing a breath or blood test, to at least 180 days for refusing a breath or blood test. If this is a second or third DWI charge, the length of the suspension is usually longer.

Do not hesitate; your future may depend on it. Contact our Denton office today for a free consultation by sending us an email or calling 940-230-2413.

**NOTE: If you believe you or someone you care about may have a drug or alcohol problem, please contact our office for a free list of resources and organizations who may be able to help. Do not wait. Addiction to drugs and alcohol are some of the most common and serious problems affecting our society. We are more than willing to help you in any way that we can. Any questions, inquiries, advice, and/or discussions involving this subject matter remain strictly confidential under the attorney-client privelage.

Contact us today. 940-230-2413 or [email protected]